Home People Events Research Curriculum


The Tech & Policy Initiative benefits from the expertise of the faculty throughout Columbia University, affiliated experts as well as from our engagement with the wider New York City ecosystem.


The Initiative's leadership is composed of Dean Merit E. Janow, Jason Healey and Laura DeNardis.


The current Fellows are Hollie Russon Gilman and Hugo Zylberberg. Past Senior Fellows have included Herbert LinAndrew McLaughlin and Alec Ross.

Next Generation Scholars

The Initiative has provided support to next generation scholars through the generous support of the Carnegie Corporation of New York.  Research projects and profiles are indicated below.

Supporters and Collaborators

We are grateful to Carnegie Corporation of New York for its major support of this Initiative. We also thank Microsoft Corporation as well as our collaborators across Columbia University for their support and participation, including the Data Science Institute, the Columbia Institute for Tele-Information and the Tow Center for Digital Journalism.

Student Associations

The Digital and Cyber Group and the Technology and Innovation Student Association are the two active student groups on issues related to Tech & Policy @ SIPA.