March 7, 2014

View at SIPA Live - April 1 at 6 p.m.

SIPA will convene leading technology entrepreneurs, venture capitalists, and experts in global urban policy for an April 1 roundtable discussion of the application of digital technology and advanced data analytics to foster improvements to urban environments around the world, Dean Merit E. Janow announced today.

Janow will host the discussion with Silicon Valley entrepreneur Joe Lonsdale, who is the co-founder of Palantir and founder of Addepar, among other companies. Daniel Doctoroff, the CEO and president of Bloomberg LLP and a former New York City deputy mayor, will make opening remarks.

Among other things, participants will consider how to catalyze innovations and encourage solutions that incorporate market-based models for sustainability. One initiative in this area is the recently launched SIPA Dean’s Public Policy Challenge Grant Program, which gives teams of SIPA and Columbia students the opportunity to design cutting-edge projects that use  ICT and/or data analytics to address problems in urban communities.

Taking part will be Jeffrey Sachs, who is director of the Earth Institute, Quetelet Professor of Sustainable Development, and professor of health policy and management; James D. Robinson III, the co-founder of RRE Ventures and a former CEO of American Express; Patricia Culligan, a professor of civil engineering mechanics, associate director of the Institute for Data Science and Engineering, and co-director of the Earth Institute’s Urban Design Lab; Carter Cleveland, the CEO of Artsy; Zachary Bookman, the co-founder and CEO of OpenGov; and Rohit Aggarwala, a professor of professional practice in international and public affairs and an expert on urban sustainability.

“Faculty and students at SIPA are eager to foster innovation at the intersection of technology and public policy,” Janow said. “I’m pleased to join Joe Lonsdale in hosting a conversation among visionary practitioners and scholars about opportunities in these areas.”

View at SIPA Live (on April 1 at 6 p.m.)