Search Google Appliance


Home  |  Sipagiving  |  Recognizing Donors  |  Endowed Lectures and Prizes

Endowed Lectures and Prizes

Thanks to the generous support of alumni and friends of the School, the following lecture series and graduation prizes have been endowed here at SIPA.

Ambassador and Mrs. Donald Blinken Endowed Lecture Series
The fund was established in 2001 by a gift from Ambassador and Mrs. Donald Blinken to provide a permanent mechanism of support for one or more lectures a year on an international subject at the discretion of the European Institute and the School of International and Public Affairs. Lecturers to date include Samantha Power, Ambassador Richard Holbrooke, and Senator Joseph Biden.

Dr. Susan Aurelia Gitelson Award for Human Values in International Affairs                                             Founded in 1978, by Dr. Susan Gitelson MIA ’66, the Dr. Susan Aurelia Gitelson Award for Human Values in International Affairs is an annual graduation award in memory of Dr. Moses Leo Gitelson, presented every year to a SIPA student or students for a project related to human values in international affairs. 

Investcorp Distinguished Endowed Lectureship in International Affairs
Established in 2000 by a gift from Investcorp, the fund supports an annual lecture series at SIPA with a focus on international finance and business. Lecturers to date include Nemir Kirdar, Mohammad Yunus, Patricia Cloherty, Michael Klein, Nandan M. Nilekani, Martin Varsavsky, and David Miller.

Leous/Parry Award for Progressive Sustainability
SIPA graduates J.P. Leous and Neal Parry created the Leous/Parry Award for Progressive Sustainability to support interdisciplinary approaches to protecting the environment and to promote collaboration from across the University to address the world's environmental issues. Presented for the first time in 2007, the award recognizes the best student paper or project that identifies a social or political problem, highlights the environmental issues at stake, and presents a thorough cross-disciplinary solution.

Harvey Picker Prize for Public Service
Established by SIPA Dean Emeritus Harvey Picker, the Picker Prize for Public Service is awarded to the student(s) in the MPA program that demonstrate a commitment to public service.

Gabriel Silver Memorial Endowed Lecture Series
The Fund was established by a gift from Mr. Leo Silver in 1949 in honor of his father, Gabriel, to provide lectures at Columbia University on the subject of world peace and international relations. Lecturers to date have included then President of Columbia, Dwight D. Eisenhower, Pascal Lamy, Director General of the World Trade Organization, Shirin Ebadi, Nobel Peace Laureate, Yukiya Amano, director general of the International Atomic Energy Agency, and Lawrence H. Summers, former director of the White House National Economic Council.

Raphael Smith Memorial Prize
Established in 1995 by family, friends and classmates to honor the memory of Raphael Smith, this prize is given at graduation to the SIPA student who best exemplifies his ideals.

M. Moran Weston II Endowed Fund for Urban Research and Policy
Established in 1998 by the generosity of many donors, the fund is named for Dr. Weston who, as a minister, banker, developer, and tireless advocate for housing and community development issues, and Columbia’s first African-American trustee, helped reshape the communities of Harlem and Morningside Heights and created new opportunities for underprivileged individuals and families.

The fund supports a Lectureship, which brings distinguished policy practitioners to the School to deliver a lecture focusing on urban issues such as housing and community development. Lecturers to date have included U.S. Representative Charles Rangel, Ambassador Felix Rohatyn, and Chancellor of the New York City Department of Education Joel Klein.